Image taken from Sa Wakas Official website: www.sawakas.com

From High-Art to Pop, to Borderline Campy: Events and Movies to be excited about in April 2013

There are ho-hum months and then there are just months wherein shows and events just bunch up and you want to go see everything. April 2013 surprisingly has a lot of shows, screenings and events to go to, and here are a few ones that I want to see.

1. Sa Wakas: A New Pinoy Rock Musical Featuring the Music of Sugarfree
Culture Shock and Fringe MNL presents Sa Wakas: A New Pinoy Rock Musical Featuring the Music of Sugarfree. April 13-28 2013 at the PETA Theater, written by Andrei Nikolai Pamintuan and Mariane Abuan with the music arranged by Ejay Yatco. 

Image taken from Sa Wakas Official website: www.sawakas.com

Image taken from Sa Wakas Official website: http://www.sawakas.com

Any teener who grew up listening to OPM during the early 2000’s would probably be a Sugarfree fan, or at least be familiar with them. With their heart-wrenching, tagos sa laman lyrics, who wouldn’t be? Admittedly I’m a fan of the band and I wouldn’t miss something like this. I’d like to see how they can work a story around Kwarto, Mariposa and especially my favorite song, Burnout. Apparently, the musical director has been working with Ebe Dancel himself, so I guess the music is in good hands. I’ve watched a few trailers in their website, and the arrangements sound good so far. I really do hope it’s a good show, I’m expecting to get all melodramatic watching it.

2. Bad Romance
A Film by Ian del Carmen, Opens exclusively in SM Cinemas on April 10. Starring Mercedes Cabral, Aiza Seguerra, Rey PJ Abellana, Janelle Manahan, and more. MTRCB Rated R16 without cuts.

Bad Romance, a film by Ian del Carmen

Bad Romance, a film by Ian del Carmen

Yes, there are probably a lot of garish things you’ll notice about this movie. The poster, the annoying voice-over in the trailer, the billing in the trailer with “Mr.Philippines 2012 winner” (kailangan pa talagang ilagay yun?!), but I’m really excited about this. It’s like the second coming of Quark Henares’ Keka, though I’m afraid it’s really bordering between campy and cheap. But I don’t know, maybe the director and the producers really intended for it to be that way, or it’s just wishful thinking. The plot is basically a parody of all of your Pinoy Rom-Coms combined with a Psychological Thriller Twist. Plus it’s Mercedes Cabral and Aiza Seguerra. I’m really starting to wonder what Mercedes Cabral felt acting with all these beginner starlets, but anyway. Just watch the trailer, if you can stand the narrator’s accent (I cringed watching it) that is.

3. Summer Komikon April 2013
Unilab Bayanihan Center, April 13, 2013, 10am – 7pm

Official Poster of Summer Komikon 2013 from http://www.facebook.com/events/378188088943575/

Official Poster of Summer Komikon 2013 from http://www.facebook.com/events/378188088943575/

I haven’t been here for a while so hopefully I could visit. Things to check out for me is the launch of Manix Abrera’s 6th Installment of Kikomachine, and the reprint of Gerry Alanguilang’s Wasted. And of course, the Indie Tiangge – which keeps on consuming my money, as always.

4. 10A Alabama Arts and Crafts Fair
April 13 and 14, 12nn -7pm, at 10A Alabama St., Quezon City (Near E. Rodriguez)

Official Poster from www.fb.com/10aAlabama

Official Poster from http://www.fb.com/10aAlabama

Good thing that Alabama is in the same Vicinity as the PETA Theater. I can visit both events in one go. I’ve been longing to visit this crafts fair and getting myself some handmade stamps, postcards, accessories, stationeries and more, and reliving my inner hipster. I think even Daphne Osena loved it when she visited it once.

5. Saturday Market@Escolta Part 2
April 27, at Escolta St. Manila – the first one they held at the First United Building. Not sure this time around. 

Saturday Market @ Escolta

Saturday Market @ Escolta

I’m really glad to know that this would have a part 2. I wasn’t able to go to the first one so this will be a chance for me to go! From the blogs i’ve read interesting people were selling interesting stuff – from books to clothes to art. My kind of crowd (ahahaha). But seriously, I hope events like this would really draw attention so that somehow, Escolta gets revived. If the City Government of Manila can align this with their Financial District project (provided Erap doesn’t win) – and they get to reuse the old buildings to house upcoming BPO businesses – and make the place alive again, that would be really great! LOL pardon the romanticism.

Some events I’m really curious about and might go:

6. Philippine Philharmonic Orchestra’s 30th season: Mahler’s Fifth – April 19, 2013, 8pm at the CCP Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (Main Theater)
Because a commenter said that I should keep on watching performances to hone my classical senses. And I wholeheartedly agree. Plus I have a Deal Grocer voucher I haven’t fully used.

PPO 30th Season: Mahler's Fifth

PPO 30th Season: Mahler’s Fifth

7. Pulp Summer Slam  XIII: ‘Til Death Do Us Part – April 27, 2013, Amoranto Stadium, QC. Gates Open at 12 NN

Pulp Summer Slam 13: Til Death Do Us Part

Pulp Summer Slam 13: Til Death Do Us Part

Because Coheed and Cambria, and Dragonforce is there. And I haven’t experienced being in Summer Slam yet.

Leave a Reply

