Photo on 2013-05-24 at 22.27 #2

Currently excited about: Mikey Recio and the Secret of the Demon Dungeon

Image

Pardon the Proof-of-Purchase picture

I’m going to post this before I lose my enthusiasm. May contain spoilers at the end.

I was scouring National Bookstore for a good fictional read since I want to be entertained after overwhelming myself with Self-Help books. They’re not exactly entertaining and in fact they’re stressing me out because it makes me want to act on what I’ve read.

Anyway.

I picked this title out since I remember it being mentioned in the Trese facebook page. I didn’t know what to expect: a first glance of the title cues Harry Potter in my mind (i.e. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets?) Hah! little did I know that the story’s going to be very far from that. I read this in a packed passenger Jeepney on my way home and that didn’t distract me from finishing the book! I’m very happy with this purchase because First I was pleasantly surprised that it wasn’t what I thought it was, Second, it made me think this way: Okayyy paano nila naisip to??? – after reading it, I had this urge to go online and search what inspired them to do this. Luckily, the book also included how the story came about. It still amazes me though how a bunch of seemingly simple “Childhood” what-ifs turned out to be the comic book that I’m holding now. Third, the details. No, this is a different thing from the art itself – its about the things that were drawn rather than how it was drawn, the cellphone, the Grills of Lolo Orly’s bakuran (I think you can only find grills like those in the Philippines), his vintage Mercedes-Benz. It’s the little things that contribute to the feeling that it can be real – but well, not quite. Speaking of art, it reminds me of Manga when it comes to detail, but it doesn’t look very Manga-ish. I don’t know how to explain it, It’s ambiguous in that sense. Even if I look at the comic for a 3rd or 4th time, it still got me saying na, wow, detailed nga. I don’t have much to say about it. It’s kinda funny, the Estero de Vitas report reads like a light novel as well – with the Illustration inserted in between pages.

My only gripe about it – BITIN. I was expecting a grand revelation at the end already, but well, it wasn’t there. So I have to really watch out for it one of these days when I pass by National Bookstore. Another thing – reading it reminded me of Tite Kubo’s Bleach – Demon Masks, Demons having ranks. Not that it’s a bad thing. Just sayin’.

One thought on “Currently excited about: Mikey Recio and the Secret of the Demon Dungeon

  1. Pingback: Book: Mikey Recio and the Secret of The Demon Dungeon | taking a break

Leave a Reply

